A Fat Rant

By Daliya Jokondo

I love her rant. She’s fun, witty, and intelligent! Not to mention cute as a button. I have already started stalking her on Myspace. Ok, I kid. But in all seriousness, I love how she tells people to just stop worrying about negative stereotypes, ridiculous beauty standards and insecurities and just LIVE life. She is ranting, yes, but she is not bashing others (thin people) she tells it like it is and is full to the rim with positivity. I love her because she is doing something, she is saying ENOUGH! Action over words, baby.

She makes me want to make a video right now composing of all kinds of women, with different skin tones, hair textures, weight, height, different ages, eye color, etc. Just to show that beauty comes in all shapes, colors, and sizes and it’s about time women stop getting so hung up on what the media and society tells us is “beautiful.” I want to make so many videos with this subject that there will be a public outrage at my spamming the internet but somehow manage to create enough followers to create a “Kiss My Ass Cosmo” revolution. Ahem…

I have learned that if you are persistent enough, you will realize that you are not a lone voice. It’s amazing, but most views that alter society are carried by the minority. The rest are just silent because they think that they are are the minority, they think that whatever they have to say does not carry weight, they just don’t care, or they are afraid to raise up. I was surprised at the reactions she recieved, though there were those who bashed her,and of course those who just hide behind their own insecurities by following whatever the “trend was” (fat bashing), there was a significant number of supporters.

Women in general, I have found see themselves in worst lighting than others, we internalize so much negativity that we spend most of our lives uncomfortable with who we are, instead of saying fuck it, who are you tell me I am not good enough?! You can’t please everyone! And why should you?

There is more to a woman than her shape, size, or color. We have religious and political views, we love and hate, cry and laugh, we have ambitions, dreams, aspirations, we have histories, we have PERSONALITY. We have so much more than just the way we look, our worth should not be narrowed down to just how we look.

That is all.

6 thoughts on “A Fat Rant

  1. Daliya, I’d love to see it too, and now the wheels are turning in my head, wondering how we can make it actually happen. Hmmm… 🙂
    -Anitra, Office for University Women

  2. I have been thinking a lot about it and it’s something that I am willing to put effort into. And I am not thinking about something highly complicated at all…My biggest goal is to capture women’s beauty in all of it forms. Unconditionally.

  3. So does that mean we can expect the video sometime in the hopefully-not-too-distant future? Because I was serious about wanting to see it. 😀 I think it sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

