Supreme Court Upholds Partial-Birth Abortion Ban

By Jessica Englund

I’m furious. I have felt like throwing my beautiful macpro against a wall all day, and this thing is my baby. My first stop of the day is always checking up with the girls over at Feministing to see whats been going on. Since the 18th, I have been bombarded by information on the most recent Supreme Court abortion decision. To tell you the truth, I was really reluctant and nervous to read about it for fear of becoming an angry woman on a mission to be annoyingly persistent.

I have allowed myself to read the information. I must admit that although the news was shocking and infuriating, Ruth Bader Ginsberg wrote a kick ass dissent. You can find the entire case here as well as argument for the case here.

The opinion of the court, offered by Chief Justice Roberts is quite extensive, and should only be attempted by devoted and serious readers. Cuncurring, we have Justice Thomas and Justice Scalia saying that

the Court’s abortion jurisprudence, including Casey and Roe v. Wade…has no basis in the Constitution.

They are right in one respect, that there is no mention of women let alone women’s health issues in the constitution. I’m sure that their point was not to reaffirm the need for an ERA, but I see the need for one, so that maybe, we WILL be included in the constitution. I think it is far past due to become legally and constitutionally equal.

I will not discuss this topic further because it only makes me more angry. Although, from the arguments, we have Clement beginning the procedure with:

Congress held six hearings over four different Congreses and heard from dozens of witnesses in determining that partial-birth abortions are never medically necessary, pose health risks, and should be banned.

I am surprised and fairly upset at the usage of ‘never’. I do not believe that such a statement is accurate, or furthermore, necessary. Although, I did say I was done talking about this.

What kills me, is that this is a COMPLETE turnaround from all decisions since Roe v. Wade. I can guarantee you, however, that we need a democratic president so that we can get more humanitarians in there!

One thought on “Supreme Court Upholds Partial-Birth Abortion Ban

  1. I don’t have much to say, I’m so f-ing disgusted. The only thing I’m willing to put out there is that this is the first time since we gave black men and women and women in general the vote that one group of people was deemed more important than another inherently, and this time it’s that the life of a fetus, no matter what, is more valuable than the life of a child. This ban without any life of the mother clause is going to be a death sentence for some women.

Leave a Reply

