New Kid on the Blog

Hello! My name is Lauren and I am new to the Feisty Femmes blog. This is also my first blogging experience (excluding Xanga in middle school), so hopefully all goes well. Here’s a little bit about me and what I hope to contribute. Let’s start out with the basics…

Name: Lauren Williams
Year: Freshman
Studies: Major in Sociology, Minor in Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies and Social Justice
Hometown: Omaha, NE

Favorite things:

Music: The Beatles. Books: Harry Potter series, To Kill a Mockingbird. TV Shows: The Office, Bones, Glee. Miscellaneous: Before becoming a sociology major, I was dead-set on being an astronomer. I still love astronomy and science, though I doubt I’ll ever discuss it in my posts.

Influences:

There are plenty of people I love hearing from, but at the top of my inspirations (aka the “List of Awesomeness”) are Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and Hillary Clinton. The Comedy Central men always seem to have great perspectives on political issues and are the perfect sources of news and comedy. Hillary Clinton is, as Tina Fey lovingly called her, a bitch (but in a good way). Not only do I respect her thinking but also her inner strength. The fact that she was able to stay by Bill’s side after the Monica Lewinsky scandal makes her a pretty tough woman.

As someone who constantly reads books and online magazines, I have a feeling many of my posts will involve pop culture. I plan on doing a few reviews of books that revolve around feminism/anti-feminism, like the Vagina Monologues. You can definitely expect Harry Potter references and a review of the Twilight series (everyone’s favorite, right?!).

What I care about:

Politics. Social Justice. I consider myself a feminist because I believe everyone should be viewed as equal and receive the same rights. I hope to work in public policy when I graduate so that this goal may be reached and nobody will have to be turned away from an opportunity due to their gender, race, sexuality, or other quality. It also irks me when people get away with throwing around harsh words without caring about the impact, such as “slut” and “faggot”. I believe that the U.S. needs to work harder in educating people about the consequences of their actions and refine programs so that equality is not misunderstood.

I think that just about covers it. I look forward to discussing all of these issues with everyone!

Lauren

5 thoughts on “New Kid on the Blog

  1. Hello, Lauren! 😀 Nice to meet you!

    I can’t wait to read your book reviews – I will probably only have time for one or two, myself. :'[ Make sure to talk about the pedophilia and abuse present in the “Twilight saga!” 😀

  2. Tara–Don’t worry, I’ve got PLENTY to say about Edward and Bella’s “loving” relationship 🙂

    Steph–Great idea, count me in!

  3. I managed to watch season 1 up to the current season of bones in six weeks… I’m equally ashamed and happy about that at the same time 🙂

  4. Pingback: University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

Leave a Reply

