It's fantastic to meet you

Heyy y’all,

I am proud to introduce myself as the new addition to the Feisty Femmes squad. My name is Tamara, and I am a student here at the University of Minnesota. Let me just say that I am honored to work with such a kick ass group of women, and I sincerely hope that I can do ‘em proud.  

I have kept a personal blog for nearly three years now, but I won’t advertise here. I hail from the great state of Iowa, nothing beats driving through the golden corn fields ready for harvest during sunset on a late summer’s eve. But let’s just get one thing clear, I don’t live on a farm, I just can appreciate the tradish. And if you’ve never been to THE Iowa City, you haven’t lived.

Toni Morrison and George Orwell are two of my favorite authors, and I would elope with David Sedaris if he was dtf. I have a cat named Panther who has a thyroid problem that results in dandruff. He’s adorable. I love Gene Wilder and Beetlejuice is my favorite movie. Every time I tell people that they tell me it scared them as a child. I don’t know what to think of that.

I am studying anthropology and English here at the University with a minor in political science and environmental science. I hope to one day become an environmental lawyer then eventually do something in international relations with an emphasis on environmental policy. Sounds fun, right? But I plan on bummin’ around the world before I get to all that jazz.

I like science and I like recycling. I enjoy the sun and being outside. I LOVE to learn, anything and everything. I believe knowledge is the only defense against ignorance. And blogging provides an amazing opportunity to fight the good fight against foolishness. I have beliefs and I have morals, and I try to live my life by these two. I love rights, ‘specially women’s. Am I feminist? By some definitions. I am a woman who believes that I am entitled to rights not because I am a woman, but because I am human. I believe that most of us can see eye to eye on this definition.

So here was my quick synopsis of myself. If you have any questions, comments, or fears, I would be happy to answer, reply, or sit with you through the dark. I look forward to forging new paths and making new discoveries with all of you in these coming months.  

peace.

One thought on “It's fantastic to meet you

Leave a Reply

