A New Kind of Bakesale

I’m a little fried this week, it seems like I’m not the only one judging by the other posts. Last week I read an article a friend posted on Facebook and it’s been on my mind off and on since then. Basically, the College Republican group in Berkeley, CA (given the location I’m guessing it’s a small group) planned to hold a bake sale protesting the oppression of white men.

Yes, you read that right. White men. Oppressed. No way. They charged their customers based on race and gender: white men paid the most for baked goods, Asian men pay $1.50, and so on and so forth. Women of the corresponding race pay a quarter less than their male counterparts, from what I understand (although the article does point out that they should technically be paying more in proportion to lower wages). Anyways, this bake sale was basically a bunch of bullshit. They were planning to go through with it, and I didn’t read any further articles on it.

Whatever the goal of their bake sale was, I don’t really know. It doesn’t seem like they were actually showing any signs of being oppressed, they were more or less whining about paying more. And hey, doesn’t paying more hurt less when you make more? That logic probably makes too much sense for such people. Whine about affirmative action all you want, this country is nowhere near ready to get rid of it, regardless of how ‘problematic’ some people view it to be.

One thought on “A New Kind of Bakesale

  1. My grandpa called me to talk about this! Jamal Simmons tweeted a really great article about a year ago on the disadvantages of poor rural folks in college admissions. If only twitter was archived! But, I do think that is an important piece of this conversation!

Leave a Reply

