I Broke Up with Netflix

webtvscoop.com

I’ve never lived in Minneapolis without Netflix.
Going on four years, we’re halfway to common law.
A week ago, I broke it off.

I’m known for taking too many books with me.
Everywhere.
Home for the weekend? At least five.
Spring break on an island? No less than fourteen.
75% of the contents of my storage shed: boxes of books.
I promised myself that I wouldn’t haul every last one of them
into my new apartment.
I made a one bookcase rule.


But..
It’s been a couple months,
and that bookcase has started to fill with magnificent reads.
I found myself thinking about them often,
but never having “time” to read them.

I was unwinding to romantic Israeli dramas.
Cop shows had become my goodnight stories.

tvfanatic.com

Can you blame me?
Sam does tell a great tale.
My Netflix habit had gone beyond reasonable, friends.

In Minnesota,
a drop in temperature equates into
a rise in hibernation.
At the dawn of every winter,
my dad reminds me of the gift it can be.
Long, cold nights slow us down
and allow us to catch up on all the things
we put aside during the summer months.
(i.e. the books on my bookshelf)
Wanting to be intentional about the months ahead,
I cancelled my account.

Perfect timing, you may say
because three weeks ago,
I was made into Chelsea Clinton’s twin.

timeinc.net

If only reporting for NBC came along with it!
My balance has never been outstanding,
so it makes for a lot of sittin time.

I spent the week with these folks.

(and a couple e-books)

I dipped into some and finished others.
Some I re-read for the eight time,
others were brand new.
I sat in Jerusalem and watched Shoah survivors testify
at the Eichmann trial.
I panted from running alongside a young boy
as he escaped the Interhamwe in Rwanda.
I fidgeted with Elizabeth Elliot
as she waited for Jim’s letters.
I shoveled snow with @MayorEmanuel
(and laughed so hard, I nearly got ousted from Walter.)
I lounged in Westpoint’s library with Grant,
reading all the magnificent books that we’re required coursework.
This week,
I became privy to the chambers
of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Pretty impressive adventures for a lady with a bum foot, eh?

So, I may not know what happened on Grey’s
and I may not understand your popular movie references,
but I can tell you a great tale or two if you’ve got a second to listen.
And, let’s remember what Amy taught us…
It’s always cool to be the smart girl at the party.

What are you reading?
What’s waiting on your bookshelf?
What’s your most dog-eared, tattered favorite?
What book is hiding between your covers at the moment?

Tonight,
I’m going to curl up in my chair
with a cup of tea,
the blanket my dear grandmother knitted me,
a fresh new Global War on Terror memoir,
and welcome the long winter nights.

 

One thought on “I Broke Up with Netflix

  1. Hooray for literacy awareness posts! ❤ I've found it SO difficult to read (what I've guiltily been thinking of as "extraneous") books during the school year! I've currently got one that's slowly pulling me away from my schoolwork… Not entirely sure if that's good or not. (It's not.)

    Currently, I'm reading Haruki Murakami's 1Q84. It came out in America in late October, and I was so excited when I finally got it! (I don't buy books often, so this is quite the thing for me, haha.) Murakami is one of my favorite authors – I'd like to read his books in the original Japanese someday – and this book has yet to let me down. His books are…very whimsical, in a way. He blends reality and fantasy so well that it's hard to tell what's what, and I love it. He's an author I'd recommend to everyone, although I caution that his books are never cut-and-dry. Current Japanese writing style has a lot of personal metaphor, so the audience will be able to perceive meaning but never fully understand its personal value to the author. In this way, you're forced to create your own. Fun, right? 😀 (Usually I'd say no, but in this case, I rather enjoy it.) Endless interpretations from the book = endless fascinating conversations.

    The book(s) I'd LIKE to pick up and read is the new Maus: MetaMaus. (Maus's two volumes were required reading for my H. Modern Lit course last spring, and they were the best required reading I'd ever had.) The new release, however, discusses the first and its impact. It sounds up your alley, for sure, Sarah! 😀 I'd be surprised if you hadn't already read Maus (although the comic format makes some shy away – big mistake!). All of the original content in MetaMaus seems worth it, even if I end up getting another copy of Maus I & II…

Leave a Reply

