Intolerable Hatred

Hello fantabulous readers,

Romans 2:1-3
Therefore you have no excuse, O man, every one of you who judges. For in passing judgment on another you condemn yourself, because you, the judge, practice the very same things.

Let me start out by saying – I am not a Christian. I do not identify with Christianity, but I was raised Catholic and understand the baseline of what Christianity is all about. So give me a few minutes of your time while I pick apart the intolerance that has been viciously permitted because of an excuse like “God told me so.”

Intolerance, it seems, is on the rise recently on campus. And, it’s not even intolerance – it’s pure and utter hatred. Two weeks ago I was in a class and one girl was giving a presentation to 5-6 students about the GLBT community. And her ‘engaging activity’ for us was called “Spot the Gay.” Let’s start with the title, ummm.. exCUSE me? Me, being the hot-tempered mess that I can be sometimes, tried to rationalize it by asking “You’re trying to demonstrate how stereotypes are demonstrated in the GLBT community and you’re explaining how they’re wrong, right?” She said no. She also didn’t seem to pick up on the steam coming out of my ears and the low growls I may or may not have been making.

This is pretty much what I looked like.

Let’s just say, I left that class (after asking her the SAME questions 4-6 times about her explaining stereotypes) pretty damn offended. ‘My boyfriend making quiche means he’s’ …. probably trying to make up for something he did. Or maybe he likes quiche. Maybe he even likes ME! Imagine that. It doesn’t mean he’s gay. Nor does my friend enjoying football games over shopping make her a lesbian. She got this activity from “Spotthegay.com” (so, so so sorry for the name) and while the author of this activity had (kind of, but seriously muddled) good intentions and while he did go into how stereotypes are stupid – it was a completely offensive activity to even begin with.

Next event of offensiveness:

"Apparently God saw Twilight" hehe

Silly cardboard picketers. Here’s some examples of what I saw this past Saturday night:

“Angry and alone? No longer, God is here.”
“Homosexuality is a sin”
“You can still be saved – stop homosexuality now!”
“Lawyer looking for sex partner” (I think perhaps, this person may have been mocking the others. Bravo.

So the first one? Not as offensive as the others. However, it implies that all people who don’t follow the Christian God are angry and alone. It also implies that ‘those people’ need to be saved from themselves. A little presumptuous maybe? It offends me, but it was the lesser of the rest. The two women that I talked to were trying to explain it to me, which I appreciated. Until I asked if they were with the same group that was condemning sexual identities ’cause the Bible says so. Which they replied, “Yes, we do agree with them.” Though they were hesitant to say so, which almost gave me some hope.

Now let me explain the anti-LGBT cardboarders. I was happy to see that most of the cars driving by were defending gender-identity equity. However, the Cardboarders response to those who supported the right to any gender identity was a bit alarming. The one that stuck out most was a response to my question: “I thought God loved everyone and created them in his own image?”

They responded with “Jesus died so homosexuals would be forgiven.” Whoa. I thought, according to the Bible, Jesus died to forgive the sins of everyone – including those who failed to “love their neighbor.” Isn’t that one of the Commandments that Christianity holds with high standards?

Maybe we should stop hating?

By no means am I comparing all Christians to these Cardboarders. I’ve had many a conversation regarding faith with my close, Christian friends who I still remain friends with. But the Christians who spit Bible phrases at me about hatred instead of love – seriously confuse me. Because, didn’t Jesus love everyone? Didn’t God create everyone with a purpose and role in life? Shouldn’t Jesus, who taught love and acceptance, love all of us just the same?

Here’s a quote from one of my acquaintances:
“Jesus was supposed to be the man that preached hope and love of the “fellow” man. Nowadays, I feel like many [Christians] use their faith as an excuse to be prejudiced against those who are gay, minorities, Muslim…and anyone else who doesn’t agree with them.

So it says in the Bible: “If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination.” Guess what it also says?

“A man is the image and glory of God; but the woman is the glory of man.” (1 Cor. 11:7)
“Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner” (1 Peter 3:7)
“Nothing is so unclean as a woman in her periods; what she touches she causes to be unclean.”
As in all the churches of the saints, women should be silent in the churches. For they are not permitted to speak, but should be subordinate, as the law also says. If there is anything they desire to know, let them ask their husbands at home. For it is shameful for a woman to speak in church.
(NRSV, 1 Corinthians 14:33-35)
Tell slaves to be submissive to their masters and to give satisfaction in every respect; they are not to talk back, Titus 2:9

Women also can’t drink when they’re older; women must subject to her husband’s sexual demands, women must cover their hair or shave it off and cover their heads, women cannot teach a man to do something, men can have sex with unwilling slaves, slaves are supposed to accept their station in life and be grateful for it, if a newly married man is not pleased with his new wife, he can throw her out and claim she wasn’t a virgin – and then she will be stoned to death.

What I don’t understand is I keep seeing phrases about Jesus loving people and treating people equally, instead of discriminating against them. So how did a religion composed of love and acceptance and equality turn into such a big ball of fiery, hell-bound hatred? Clearly, we have moved beyond the Bible and the literal meanings of the verses. So why are we so damn hung up on CERTAIN verses? Who are we to judge anyone? After all, I thought it was not a human’s place to judge others.


Here's an example of the Bible being open to interpretation. It sounds to me like we still don't understand SIN - maybe because of our inaccurate judgemental ways?

Here’s one of the most amazing quotes I heard from Margaret Cho. Keep in mind this quote is for those who ‘hate’ because it says so in the Bible (it’s not directed towards Christianity as a whole!):

These Christian groups are always up to some kind of bullshit. They’re either trying to sneak Terry Chavo a Happy Meal, or going off about ‘SpongeBob is gay!’ Sponge Bob is a sponge. Obviously, transsexual. They’re so busy all the time. I’m like, shouldn’t you be preparing for the rapture? Aren’t you supposed to be leaving soon? They have no right to call themselves Christians, because they have no Christianity to them. They have no kindness, they have no compassion, they have no charity. I want Jesus to come back and say “That’s not what I meant!” Assassin, 2005

2 thoughts on “Intolerable Hatred

  1. I think you bring up some really good points about Christianity!
    However, be careful not to fall into the same traps your opposition does! That whole heap of Scripture you chopped and pasted out of context and out of any hermeneutical study or exegesis severely weakens your argument and makes believing Christians like myself raise their guards. And those are the folks you want on your side!!

    • I apologize that I took anything out of context. However, the point was that there are CERTAIN (certainly not all, by any means) Christians that take the same type of things out of context as well. My argument was that, clearly – not everything is the Bible is taken the same way it may have been taken eons ago. So the passages regarding homosexuality should not be taken in the same way that those passages were either – because they are out of context and aren’t applicable to our way of life today. I didn’t mean to offend you, so I’m sorry if I did. But the use of the Bible against me and my friends who identify with the GLBT community offends me – especially because my belief of Christianity is that its supposed to focus on LOVE, not exclusion like it was being used against me.

Leave a Reply

