Hollaback!: Why I’m Engaged in Fighting Street Harassment

By Guest Contributor Ami Wazlawik

Hollaback! That’s exactly what my friend did when we were harassed on the street a few summers ago. Since then, I’ve heard many stories of street harassment, and have both witnessed and been a victim of street harassment. And every time, I’m outraged and upset that some people think it’s okay to say and do such things to me and to others out there in this great big world. That’s why I got involved in fighting street harassment, through an organization called Hollaback!

Last spring I was working as an intern at The Aurora Center, and thinking about connections between various forms of violence against women, including street harassment. I was vaguely aware of Hollaback! and the work that they do, but started to look more into the organization as I heard story after story of street harassment from friends and colleagues. I thought it might be a good idea to have a Hollaback! site in the Twin Cities area, so I did a little research and found out that Hollaback! was looking to launch another group of sites later that year. I ended up working with a small group of great folks from TC Avengers on the initial process of learning and gathering content for the website. I’m now the Director and sole staff person at Hollaback! Twin Cities. We’re always looking for folks to partner with for events, especially for International Anti-Street Harassment Week coming up in March.

If you’re interested in blogging for Hollaback! Twin Cities, volunteering to help with events or if you have a story to share, please check out the website here.

Ami Wazlawik is a graduate student at the University of Minnesota Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, earning her Master’s degree in public policy, with a focus on social policy and prevention science. The 2011 winner of the Women’s Center Sharon Doherty Student Leadership Award, she is a feminist activist who is passionate about many issues. Check out her personal blog, Minneapolitan Mademoiselle.

One thought on “Hollaback!: Why I’m Engaged in Fighting Street Harassment

  1. Raising awareness about street harassment is so important Ami! I think it is great that you started a Hollaback chapter in the Twin Cities because it gives women the vocabulary to be able to discuss what they go through

Leave a Reply

