Hey there, blog land.

These are always so awkward, right? The introductory, self-indulgent, get-to-know-me blog posts? Right. I know.

Anyways, my name is Taylor Kippels and I am one of two new communications interns here at the University of Minnesota Women’s Center (You’ll meet my counterpart later this week). I’m thrilled to start a new school year with this awesome group of women and yes, men, too.

I hate to admit this, but I didn’t even know that there was a Women’s Center until I applied for the job. And I hate to think that there are probably a lot of other women like me who don’t have a clue either. I can’t wait to change that! I’m looking forward to working towards expanding our audience, reaching more people, making progress, and branching out and becoming a strong presence in the social media world.

What to expect from my personal blog posts on here? Whew, good question. I’m a big reader, especially when it comes to memoirs/biographies about women, so I’d say you can expect a few book inspired posts. With a presidential election going on it will be almost impossible not to include at least one post about the presidential debates. As for the rest, it’s kind of up in the air. Whatever interesting event/topic/controversy comes up in relation to women’s rights, we’ll be talking about it.

About me in 140 characters or less:

Senior PR student. Theatre lover. Supporter of Human Rights. Cat lady. Biography junkie. Coffee addict. Likes cheese and Ryan Gosling.

A few of my favorite things:
Movies: Amelie, Mary and Max, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Phoebe in Wonderland, Bringing Up Baby
TV: Rizzoli and Isles, Pushing Daisies (still not over the fact that it was canceled), Sex and the City, Mad Men, Girls
Music: Mariana and the Diamonds, Frank Sinatra, Adele, Sia, Madonna, Fleetwood Mac, Lissie
Books: Driving With Dead People, The Bell Jar, Wicked, The Glass Castle, Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
Inspirational women: Hilary Clinton, Audrey Hepburn, Eve Ensler, Meryl Streep, Sylvia Plath, Katharine Hepburn, Michelle Obama

Favorite quotes (three of many):

Always be yourself. All the way, all the time. Be yourself, and then some. It’s not always pretty, and it’s not always happy, but hey, you’re alive and you’re here. There is no one like you, no one, so embrace it. – Kristin Chenoweth

I still feel like I have a lot of growing up to do ’til I find the voice. Everybody has their own voice and their own thing they want to say to the world. – Sasha Alexander

Life is to be lived. If you have to support yourself, you had bloody well better find some way that is going to be interesting. And you don’t do that by sitting around. – Katharine Hepburn

I’m looking forward to see where this blog goes over the next year, stay tuned!

Taylor (Also, check out my personal blog)

One thought on “Hey there, blog land.

  1. Pingback: It’s me, Heidi! | University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

Leave a Reply

