Cheers to Meeting Yet Another Person with the Name Sam

Hi! As you might’ve guessed by the title, my name is Sam. I’m actually Samantha, but that’s only my name on the first day of classes and when my mom yells at me. I’m nearly 20-years-old (that sounds so much more elegant than 19-years-old), and I’m a sophomore at the University of Minnesota. I’m a professional journalism major with a minor in cultural studies and comparative literature—which is an academic way of stating that I want to professionally write about pop culture.

Almost everyone I meet claims that they’re terrible at remembering names; I am the opposite. Not only do I remember names, I remember completely useless facts about people. I then bring up those completely useless facts in future conversations which makes me seem like a certified stalker. Don’t ever mention to me your mother’s maiden name, which class you dropped in order to take yoga, or your favorite lyric by Jay-Z. I will remember it. I will bring it up. I will scare you by doing so.

My Plate of Popular Culture:
I like listening to Jack’s Mannequin, Something Corporate, The Fray, Ed Sheeran, The Script, Marina and the Diamonds, Incubus, Kanye West, The Dangerous Summer, One Direction (Harry Styles is my favorite), and Taylor Swift. I’m entirely cool if we all pretend that I don’t like to listen to the last two aforementioned artists.

If the TV shows I watch made up the food pyramid, the bottom layer would include: Grey’s Anatomy, Breaking Bad, Girls, and Storage Wars; the middle layers would include: Friends, Workaholics, and Boy Meets World; and the self-indulgent top layer would include: The Vampire Diaries, Big Brother, and True Life.

I love reading but I don’t do enough of it. My favorite books are The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, and If Beale Street Could Talk by James Baldwin. Online, I’m frequently moseying on over to Thoughtcatalog and Jezebel.

My favorite movie is Forrest Gump; unless it’s December 24th because you will then find me watching A Christmas Story 12 times in a row, while forgetting that a guy named Tom Hanks even exists (only for 24 hours though, I mean this is TOM HANKS we’re talking about).

The Inner Mechanisms of My Soul:
I’m inspired by a wide palette of things: Michelle Obama, how people order their drinks at Starbucks, where people choose to sit on public transportation, the brightness of someone’s laptop screen, Beyoncé, the Minneapolis skyline in the morning, bikers nearly killing me while walking to class, professors’ crude jokes, and seeing whether or not people wait for the pedestrian light to turn on before crossing the street.

No introduction post would be whole without some completely useless facts about me. Hopefully you’ll remember them and bring them up in future conversations which will make you seem like a certified stalker, too: I give a ridiculous amount money to Starbucks annually for soy peppermint vanilla lattes; if I’m going to be late somewhere, I’d rather not show up; I really hope to see same-sex marriage legalized nationally in the United States in my lifetime; I love British culture (Olly Murs, Alan Carr, BBC, Skins, Little Mix, the Union Jack) and I plan on studying abroad in London in spring 2014 and I’m so excited!

Why I’m Here:
As a woman in an educational environment, I’ve realized that there will continuously be an uphill battle for equality. I’m interested in social justice and equality for all genders because I want to be able to tell my grandchildren that the world they grow up in is better than the one I grew up in. Every day there are instances of social injustices on campus, in the Twin Cities community, online, on TV shows, even in classes where a safe environment is crucial though often neglected. By contributing to this blog, I hope to widen my perspective on the progress that needs to be made in society, while also giving insight to others on situations I encounter as a female college student.

I’m thrilled to be part of this blogging community and I can’t wait to grow with you all.

-Sam

5 thoughts on “Cheers to Meeting Yet Another Person with the Name Sam

  1. Hey Sam, it’s good to have you on the team and I’m excited to read more of your blogs! Also, I must admit that I too will always watch Forrest Gump if it’s on TV and the A Christmas Story marathon is a pretty big tradition in my family (and yes, we can quote the whole movie).

  2. Pingback: The Problem With Catcalling | University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

  3. Pingback: Rob Kardashian’s Outlook on How Young Women Should be Treating Their Bodies | University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

  4. Pingback: Carloanpal.com Dabbles in Good Old Fashioned Misogyny | University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

  5. Sam,

    John Iannuzzi from Lifestyle Talk radio here. jiannuzzi@lifestyletalkradio.com
    I hope you can get back to me re: a piece you did on crime in Iceland recently. We have a talk show on our Network that is going to be taping a show on the topic, and I would like to have your input (over the phone) if you would be interested?
    Thanks.
    All the best,

    -JI

Leave a Reply

