A Woman in Harmony With Her Spirit

By Guest Contributor Amy Neguse

The inspirational Maya Angelou eloquently states, “A woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination prepared to be herself and only herself.” This quote is representative of how I uphold myself through all of my accomplishments and endeavors. As a senior in the College of Education and Human Development, majoring in Family Social Science and minoring in Family Violence Prevention, I have been exposed to many outlets and educational opportunities that have been a strong force in guiding my future goals.

After my undergraduate career, I plan to pursue my Ph.D. in Marriage and Family Therapy and acquire the necessary knowledge to work closely with families. My dream is to encourage healthy family relationships among underrepresented populations within our community. With my motivation and passion for families and education, I plan to develop intervention and prevention programs in order to create healthy family systems and to motivate youth to obtain a higher education.

In the future, I plan to continue my travels around the world and learn more about other cultures that encompass our world. I believe with the exposure and understanding of other cultures, traditions, languages, and food, we all can learn a little more about those around us.

Mentorship is truly a very important aspect to anyone’s personal growth, and I believe that the mentorship I am receiving through Honoring Women Worldwide will help me grow as an individual. The holistic mentorship positively benefits my mental, emotional, and professional growth and I look forward to developing lasting relationships with all of the women involved in this amazing organization.

Amy Neguse is the recipient of the Women’s Center 2012-2013 Honoring Women Worldwide Scholarship, which sponsors participation in the Honoring Women Worldwide – Art of Honoring Leadership Development College Mentoring Program. Amy is also the 2012-2013 Sharon L. Doherty Student Leadership Award. She will be guest blogging about her leadership and mentorship experiences throughout the year.

One thought on “A Woman in Harmony With Her Spirit

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

