Student Government Profile: Sophie Wallerstedt

sophie-headshot-480x400Leading up to our February 23 Elect Her – Campus Women Win training, the Women’s Center is featuring some of the women currently participating in student government to shed light on the myriad of ways to get involved in governance and campus leadership. Today, we are profiling Sophie Wallerstedt.

1. Describe your involvement in student government (roles, organizations, responsibilities, etc.).
I currently serve as the Speaker of the Forum for the Minnesota Student Association. I handle membership, Forum planning, agenda setting, and other tasks. I also serve as a student senator representing the College of Liberal Arts at the University Senate. In the past I was a student advocate in the Minnesota Student Legislative Coalition.

2. What sparked your interest in participating in student government?
I first ran as a student senator in my sophomore year, and was elected for my junior year. After being a part of the housing community (on council my freshman year and as a community advisor my sophomore year), I wanted to continue my involvement in university life. I wanted to become more engaged in the decision-making and government aspect of student life, so I decided to run.

3. What is most rewarding about your involvement?
The relationships I have made with other members and administrators has been incredibly rewarding. I’ve made many great friends within student government, and I have a feeling many of those relationships will last longer than my tenure at the U.

4. What is challenging about your involvement?
Serving as Speaker requires a lot of behind the scenes work, for which you are not always acknowledged. There is also a lot of underlying tasks. My to-do list is never complete — something comes up constantly.

5. What tips do you have for other women students interested in student government?
Don’t hesitate to run for election or become a general member of MSA. It’s incredibly easy to become involved in student government, though most people don’t realize it. Becoming involved in student government has been one of my most rewarding activities at the University level, and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to learn more about how the University works, and if they want to become a greater part of the student movement for a better campus.

Want to learn more about getting involved in student government and leadership? Apply to participate in the Elect Her training by February 8.

Leave a Reply

