Let Me Introduce Myself…

Hi everyone! My name is Emma and I’m currently enjoying my first year at the U. I transferred here from Loyola University in Chicago, so I’m technically a sophomore in college, but I’m a freshman in my program.

Some Less Boring Facts About Me:

I’m a graphic design major, and someday I hope to be an art director for a magazine.

I love to do anything artistic, especially drawing and painting. I also love to play piano and sing, and I’m in the process of learning to play guitar.

I’ve been a vegetarian for a little over 2 years.

I like to read, and for some reason I consistently read books that are beautifully written but tragically sad. I am not a movie person, because I hate the cathartic experience that happens when a movie ends. I love TV, and I watch my favorite shows over and over and over and memorize every word. I would list some of my favorites for you, but there would be too many and it would be embarrassing to admit that I spend that much time watching TV.

I carry a giant notebook with me everywhere I go that’s filled with all of my ideas because my thoughts are super cluttered and I forget everything all the time. I love making lists, and I’m one of those people who will do something and then, after already having completed it, I’ll write it down on my to-do list just so I can cross it off.

I love stuffed animals, coloring books, stickers, puppies, and the Disney princesses (especially Ariel, Pocohantas, and Mulan). I’m basically five years old.

Why I’m Here:

I’m a feminist, and I want to inspire others to become feminists too! The word “feminist” has become associated with women who are angry, bra-burning man-haters. I hate that. When women are asked if they are feminists, a very small percentage of them say yes. However, when asked if they believe in equal rights for both sexes, that number goes up significantly. Well ladies, I am here to tell you that those are the same thing!! Feminism is just the belief that men and women should be equal.

Here’s why I’m a feminist. I don’t want a bunch of men to decide whether or not I have can have access to birth control. I don’t want men to tell me that I can’t have an abortion. I want to have control over my own body. I don’t want to make 75 cents to every man’s dollar. I want to help women who are sexually assaulted or are the victims of domestic violence. I want to be respected for my brain, not judged for my body. I want to control my own future without being weighed down by sexism. If you think sexism is dead, I am here to tell you: you are wrong. To all the women (and men) who are reading this, give me a chance to convince you. Sexism is still very prevalent in our society, and we need feminism.

I’m so honored to be a part of this blog, and I have a lot to say. I can’t wait to share my thoughts and hear the thoughts of others on a subject I have a lot of passion for!

Thanks for reading!

Emma

Leave a Reply

