Introduction: Mali

Hi, all!

My name is Mali and I am one of the newest bloggers for the Women’s Center.

A little about me: I am a senior embarking on my last semester here at the U. I am a major in Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature, minoring in Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies (where my heart truly lies). I’m currently an Editorial Assistant at the Minnesota Historical Society Press, where I help publish socially and historically conscious texts about Minnesota, as well as books about new exhibits coming to the museum. Professionally, I hope to work in publishing and work to publish my own work about gender and women’s issues–especially those that affect folks of color, and who are victims of domestic violence.

As a social activist, I believe that educating ourselves about the social constructs that oppress us here at school and in our greater society is our key to our own happiness. I look forward to using this blog to connecting with you all on how we can keep educating ourselves: through stories, personal narratives, and shared experiences.

More interestingly, I spend most of my spare time walking around Lake of the Isles, reading, studying, and spending time with family. I enjoy reaching out to black women in my neighborhood, school, and field and making connections with people that share my interests. I’m a huge fan of Janelle Monae, Beyonce, India Arie, Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, and The Office, baking, and fashion. If you ever want to to talk about these things, or anything else, let me know!

Nice meeting you all!

Mali

Leave a Reply

