Self Care During Finals…Is That Possible?

Hello folks, readers, friends of mine!

I will admit, I was not excited when I got the prompt this week. “Tell others how to practice self-care during hectic times? HAH!” I thought to myself, because honestly, it’s something I have been struggling to figure out since freshman year.

We are not people. We are students. We are workers. We are friends, relatives, boyfriends, girlfriends, but we are not people, at least that’s what it feels like we are being told sometimes. Time and time again I have people telling me to manage my time better. “What time?” I say to them, a little bit bitter. It is an honest question. I don’t know how I can manage time that I don’t have. Between working 8-10 hours most days, doing 3 hours of homework for every credit I have (come on, we all know that recommendation is a joke, and a bad one at that), and doing volunteer activities like this blog, when the hell am I supposed to eat and sleep, let alone find time to be social and caring?

I think there are a lot of students who feel this way. I think a lot of us feel torn in twenty different directions, and exhausted, we try to piece ourselves back together at the end of the day, but we all know that is a fast road to a mental breakdown, or nasty illness (our bodies can only take so much). So what do we do?

Sometimes we just have to say “F**k it”. Yes, that is my answer, and my advice to you all. Whatever is demanding your attention and telling you that it is more important than your health or your sanity, just say “F**k it”! Whatever it is, unless it is literally a matter of life and death, it can wait ten minutes. You take that ten minutes, grab it by the balls, horns, head, whatever! Use it to take a nap, eat a meal (granola bars DO NOT COUNT), drink some tea, did I mention taking a nap already?

Go on, give it a try. After all, it is finals week, and things kind of suck already, don’t they? So what have you got to lose!

Leave a Reply

