My Year in Review

I find myself in a state of absolute disbelief that my freshman year is coming to an end. As I’m writing this blog post, I am almost one-fourth of the way through college. And I find that slightly scary, but it also feels surprisingly good.
But then again, I did have a really great freshman year. I feel like I’ve learned a lot – both from my professors and from my experiences.
When I came to the University of Minnesota, I was terrified. I was going to a school where I knew practically no one, I was five hours from home, and I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know how college worked, and I especially did not know if I would make any friends whatsoever. However, I started to meet new people from on my floor and in my classes, and I’ve made friends here that I wouldn’t give up for the world. I realized that the worrying was nonsensical.
I started doing these blog posts for the Minnesota Women’s Center Blog around early March, I believe. And though I haven’t been here very long, I can say it has had a tremendous impact on me. These blog posts have given me confidence in my writing and in my opinions. It’s a very strange feeling to put a piece of your soul into your writing and then see it on a website the next day. It’s strange, but ultimately, it’s very empowering.
I feel like I’ve grown a lot this year, with this blog. There have been wonderful posts by my fellow bloggers, and I want to thank everyone who reads the MN Women’s Center Blog; it means a lot to us, and we love spreading our message to you.
What I’ve learned most from my freshman year – from here on this blog to my everyday life – is to have self-confidence. It’s something I struggled with in high school; I think it’s something everyone struggles with at least once in their life.
And I will use this confidence in myself to keep pushing myself, to keep finding new topics to talk about, and finding new ways to get my message across. I’m one voice of many, but I think I’ve finally realized that my voice is important.

One thought on “My Year in Review

  1. Pingback: What You Can Do Locally to Help Bring Back Our Girls | University of Minnesota Women's Center Blog

Leave a Reply

