Welcome Sam to the UMN Women’s Center blogging team!

unnamed-1

Hello humans!…and there I go making an obscure Disney reference and we haven’t even gotten past the first sentence. Don’t worry, if you read my postings long enough, you’ll get used to it.

I’m not great at this whole biography thing, but I suppose a great place to start would be with the basics. My name’s Samantha, but feel free to call me Sam. I’m a senior, studying Public Relations and Communications. When I make that transition into the terrifying, somewhat mythological place called the “real world” next year, I hope to work for one of the many PR agencies in Minneapolis, hopefully doing a lot with social media – or as I like to call it, getting paid to do what I already do with all of my free time. That, or I would love to find my way back to the Walt Disney Company, where I spent the best eight months of my life working at Disney World last semester.

On to my blogging experience, I suppose. My love of blogging began my freshman year of college after one of my friends introduced me to Tumblr. I’ve been running a personal blog with over 1,000 followers for almost three years. Granted, I mainly use it to reblog pretty pictures and fangirl about Once Upon A Time, Star Wars, Disney, and a plethora of other things, but it got me interested nonetheless. Then I joined the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA for short, because that’s just a mouthful) and discovered that I could actually make a career out of this blogging thing. During my junior year, I took on the role of Co-Director of Communications for our chapter, meaning I was responsible for writing blog posts, editing those written by committee members, and making sure everything made it’s way onto our Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Finally, how did I become interested in the world of social justice? Well, I would actually give my friend and Tumblr credit for that as well. There are so many issues related to human rights of which I was completely unaware. I’m interested in all kinds of social issues, but my main interest is women’s rights because it’s a subject that’s so relevant to my life. In the past couple of years, I’ve discovered just how undervalued women still are in society. We have such a long way to go in order to achieve gender equality. I don’t want to live in a world where politicians are constantly trying to take away women’s rights to their bodies. I don’t want to live in a world where sexual assault isn’t taken seriously. I don’t want to be held to completely different standards than men and demonized for certain behaviors simply because of my gender. What bothers me the most about all of this is how many people don’t seem to be informed about these issues or they simply don’t want to talk about them. My hope is that maybe, just maybe, I can write something that can inspire people to take action or at least get a conversation started. Perhaps that’s a lofty goal, but as one of my biggest inspirations in life, Walt Disney, once said, “If you can dream it you can do it.” He also said, “The way to get started it to quit talking and begin doing,” so here I go, taking another dive into the world of blogging!

Leave a Reply

