Welcome Alyssa to the UMN’s Women’s Center Blogging Team!

unnamed

Hi! My name’s Alyssa, and I’m the person riding the coin-operated kid’s snow mobile. I was in a mall with my friends, and I thought sitting in a ride too small for me would be fun.

I’m a junior at the University of Minnesota studying English Literature and History, both with an emphasis on Gender and Women’s studies. Right now, I’m studying abroad in Scotland for a semester, which has been a fun, enlightening adventure for me so far.

My hometown is Bismarck, North Dakota. Yes, the one with the oil thing. I moved to Minneapolis in 2012 to attend the University of Minnesota, and I aim to go to grad school in Gender Studies. My career goals include traveling, writing kick-ass novels, and professing at a decent college near you.

I love reading. As for my reading tastes, I’m an Anglophile, which means Dickens, Austen, the Bröntes are all my people. I also enjoy the works of Harlem Renaissance writers such as Zora Neale Hurston, Langston Hughes, Nella Larsen, and Lorraine Hansberry. Especially the feminist ones. I also love me some fantasy, as in Harry Potter. I also love movies and TV. I’m currently obsessed with the Vampire Diaries. Please don’t judge me. I know what the quality of the show is (not good), but something about it (Ian Somerhalder) is so addicting!

I also love writing, obviously. As mentioned before, I aim to write professionally. I write both fiction and nonfiction, and I write in the genres of poetry, fantasy, magical realism, surrealism, drama, and a whole bunch of other genres that the University writing community made up. I’m only really good at about one or two of these, and I do the rest to challenge myself and grow in my skills, as all writers should.

I am grateful to be blogging with the University of Minnesota Women’s Center because I need feminism. We all do, but the sad thing is that many don’t realize how much we need it. There’s a lot of confusion about what feminism means, and powerful people contribute to the damaging stereotypes of the definition of feminism. I want to throw my voice in the abyss of other bloggers, internet writers, and social commentators to talk about this issue because I feel that social justice is necessary in making this world safer and making each other better people.

I also care about disability rights and issues. I am an epileptic, and I have experienced firsthand the discrimination that comes with that, not only being a lady-identified person but also a member of the disabled community. It isn’t right, and it isn’t something to endure or overcome. Discrimination just shouldn’t happen.

My goal writing with the Women’s Center is to provide insight on social justice issues in a (hopefully) funny, relatable way. I look forward to blogging for you, and I hope you enjoy! Don’t hesitate to contact me if you feel so inclined: mart3158@umn.edu.

