Welcome Anna to the Women’s Center Blogging Team!

1545025_10202484470467511_212552730_n

Hi everyone! I’m Anna and I’m a sophomore here at the University of Minnesota. I’m double majoring in Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies and Strategic Communication, and I am working on three minors in Spanish, Arabic, and Public Health. You’re probably wondering what any of those things have to do with each other, so let me explain that I want to work in health information/education to address the health issues of women from oppressed areas of the world, and Spanish and Arabic are two of the many languages I hope to learn.

I was born in Chicago but grew up in a small town of 4,000 people, and even though I always thought I was a “city girl” at heart, moving to Minneapolis was a whole new world for me. All of a sudden I was meeting people with different backgrounds and stories that I had only heard of or read about from a distance in my Wisconsin hometown. I felt like I had so much to learn and as overwhelming as that was, I loved it. I changed my major from engineering so I could enter a field where I could experience and celebrate our differences firsthand and communicate with people from all around the world. Life at the U has been more wonderful than I can even put into words and has allowed me to discover my passions.

My main passion is writing, obviously, which is why I’m here at the Women’s Center Blog. I have always loved writing, but I strayed from it for a few years. Rediscovering my love for writing is something I will be forever grateful for. I prefer writing non-fiction– politics, social issues, global problems, gender equality, and anything along those lines. Regardless of what topic, I always aim to centralize the intersections of race, gender, class, religion, sexuality, etc. and to be inclusive of everyone. Upon becoming aware of how systems of oppression work, I realized that my feminism is incomplete and actually pretty useless without intersectionality. If I want to write to make a change, I must consider the experiences of marginalized communities outside of my own.

Reading is also a love of mine. I have discovered some of my favorite authors in my classes here. I absolutely adore the works of Audre Lorde and Maya Angelou, and I am always down to contemplate bell hooks’ theories. I grew up burying my face in books, starting with Junie B. Jones, and I haven’t stopped since.

In addition to reading and writing, I love coffee, talking about coffee, thinking about coffee, talking about feminism and intersectionality, expressing my dislike towards Donald Trump, watching documentaries and really lame Lifetime movies, and listening to rap and R&B (the feminist in me knows how problematic some of these lyrics can be and is really quite ashamed.)

I am so excited to be writing for the Women’s Center Blog and to discover more about the topics I love! I’m completely open to listening to and considering your critique; please tell me if you think I missed something or if you’d like to discuss any of my posts further by emailing me at blasc065@umn.edu.

Leave a Reply

