Welcome Sara to the Women’s Center Blogging Team!

Hello!

My name is Sara and I am a first year graduate student in the School of Public Health where I study Maternal and Child Health. I’m also the graduate assistant for the Race, Indigeneity, Gender & Sexuality Studies Initiative (RIGS). I completed my Bachelor’s degree at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities in 2015 where I majored in American Studies and minored in Asian American Studies as well as Public Health.

On an academic note, some of my research interests include: women’s health, reproductive justice, social determinants of health, mental health, and qualitative research methodologies. I’m most interested in the intersections of poverty, health, and gender. In the future, I hope to work in an area that allows me to work on many of those issues.

On a not-so-serious note, I like the smell of the banana bread (without chocolate chips) baking in the oven, day old bonfire smelling clothes, (re)reading a good book (The Alchemist), and the feeling you get when you see your food coming towards you at a restaurant. Also, I love that feeling you get when you finally rack up the nerve to buy a plane ticket that you’ve been putting off. The feeling of being on said plane and flying somewhere new is equally as wonderful.

Feel free to contact me at cron0158@umn.edu if you want to learn more about the RIGS Initiative or talk about plane ticket purchasing strategies.

Leave a Reply

