Welcome Felicia to the Women’s Center Blogging Team!

 

10996064_10204716876747909_5537623511921883715_n

Hey everyone! My name is Felicia and I’m a first year student here at the University of Minnesota. I’m majoring in Political Science and triple minoring in Leadership, Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies, and US Comparative Race and Ethnicity Studies. In the future I hope to pursue a career working with local non-profits and eventually in federal or state government creating public policy.

I have a strong interest in how the intersections of race, gender, sexuality and class create systems of oppression. I’m extremely passionate about social justice and exposing the abuse of power and privilege that is so prevalent in our society. I’m also the president of Women for Political Change, a student group my friends and I founded in order to help women gain greater representation in government.

Now the FUN things.

  • I love a good cup of chai tea but I love a glass of skim milk even more.
  • I enjoy reading autobiographies, making collages of weird cut-out things, and taking longggggg naps with my cats.
  • I know everyone and their mom is a Netflix fanatic but I only have a few top shows; I LOVE Scandal (Olivia Pope = Goals) and I’m a sucker for a great HBO Series (Game of Thrones, Girls, Last Week Tonight).
  • I have two jobs and I’m a self-proclaimed workaholic.
  • I’ve been out of the country twice and ever since I’ve been aching to travel.
  • Nothing is more fun than a great concert
  • My hometown is Woodbury, MN aka the epitome of suburbia, about 25 minutes from campus, and I don’t think I could live outside of the city ever again after experiencing the bliss of Minneapolis.

I’m excited to write for the Women’s Center blog and share some hopefully interesting views from my perspective about the problematic injustices that plague this world. This is the first year in quite a while that I’ve started writing as an outlet and it has quickly proven to be one of my favorite hobbies. I hope you enjoy my posts and please feel free to reach out to me if you ever want to discuss something in more detail! phili185@umn.edu

Leave a Reply

