Welcome Cecilia to the Women’s Center Blogging Team!

10553518_131460727226831_7741526221145701862_n¡Hola gente!

My name is Cecilia Rasgado and I am currently a second year gopher at the U majoring in Chican@ & Latin@ Studies and Communications, with a focus in Gender Women & Sexuality Studies. My majors and minor emphasize critical race feminisms, immigration rights, contemporary society, mass incarceration, and indigenous peoples. Needless to say, I am passionate about intersectional rights and my Mexican-American heritage so I very much look forward to blogging about these topics for the Women’s Center. This is a big step for me, and I can’t wait to share my insight.

Coming to the Twin Cities from a northern Chicago suburb, I was eager to learn more about my identity and other cultures. As of now, I can proudly say that enrolling myself in Chican@ & Latin@ Studies has the been the best decision I have made in my college career for many reasons. The most significant being the discovery of who I am and what empowers me as an individual. Although we are constantly seeking who we are as we age, this once vague image of myself has become more clear since coming to college. Through this blog, I hope to continue educating others and raising awareness of the Chicana experience.

On another note, I absolutely love art and appreciate every style of work. Although my admiration for art has no limit nor restrictions, Frida Kahlo is hands down my favorite artist. She is the definition of bad ass and has never held back on her sex appeal. I am certain I will incorporate her in my blog posts since she was highly influential in my life. I struggled to accept my Mexican roots growing up but she inspired me to be proud of my culture, never take crap from anyone, and create my own artwork. I have recently begun illustrating what is meaningful to me and still have a lot to uncover in this new hobby of mine.

All in all, I am thrilled to begin sharing this new blogging journey with you! Feel free to message me if you have any questions, comments, or just to say hello at rasga002@umn.edu.

Leave a Reply

